About Sarawak

Sarawak is the largest of Malaysia’s 13 States and one of the two States located on the third largest island in the world -- Borneo. Known as the Land of the Hornbills, it is a unique and diverse gem in terms of its population, culture, geography and history.
Sarawak’s economy has been transformed in recent years, as the state diversifies away from its traditional reliance on mining, agriculture and forestry. Today, the government is developing the state’s infrastructure, high-tech industries and renewable energy sources with the aim of creating 1.5 million jobs and long-term economic prosperity by 2030.
State general elections take place every five years. Sarawak’s head of state is the Yang di-Pertua Negeri (or Governor). The Yang di-Pertua Negeri is responsible for appointing the Chief Minister, who governs Sarawak alongside a Cabinet of Ministers. The current Chief Minister is Pehin Sri Haji Abdul Taib Mahmud.

An overview of the government bodies of Sarawak

Sarawak’s State Legislative Assembly, the oldest legislature in Malaysia, was established after its first inaugural meeting at Bintulu on 8th September 1867. Its first 21-member Sarawak General Council, headed by Rajah Charles Brooke, consisted of six of Brooke’s officers and 16 local community leaders. In 1903, the General Council was renamed Council Negri.
In 1941, Brooke’s son, Vyner, established a written constitution known as the Constitution Order in Council during the 100th anniversary celebration of the Brookes’ rule in Sarawak. As a result, the Council Negri membership numbers were increased to 24. Instead of Vyner Brookes (in his role as Rajah) the Chief Secretary was appointed to preside over the Council Negri.
In 1963, the Council Negri’s membership increased to 42. Since then, it rose incrementally to 48 in 1968, 56 in 1989, 62 in 1996 and 71 in 2006. In 1976, the Council Negri was renamed the Dewan Undangan Negeri (DUN).

Administrative Division and Districts

Division District Sub-District
Kuching Kuching Padawan
Lundu Sematan
Samarahan Samarahan
Serian Tebedu
Simunjan Sebuyau
Sri Aman Sri Aman Lingga
Lubok Antu Engkilili
Betong Betong Maludam
Saratok Kabong
Sarikei Sarikei
Sibu Sibu
Mukah Mukah Balingian
Dalat Oya
Daro Belawai
Matu Igan
Bintulu Bintulu Sebauh
Kapit Kapit Ng. Merit
Belaga Sg. Asap
Miri Miri Sibuti
Marudi Beluru
Long Lama
Limbang Limbang Ng.Medamit
Lawas Sundar